IMG_1997

IMG_1998

Thanks to this plant, well and to the incredibly temperate weather we’re having that allows me to sleep with the windows open in November, I woke up this morning to the sound of a hummingbird’s wings as it feasted on the crazy number of scarlet flowers on my pineapple sage (salvia elegans). I love this plant. The crushed leaves truly do smell very pineapple-y, and they even have a slight pineapple taste. This particular bush is taller then me and wider then it is tall. And the hummingbirds are plump and making good use of the clothesline right above it, a perfect perch. The sage hardly needs any water all summer and will even sporadically bloom during the summer, but fall is it’s glory. Hundreds upon hundreds of red flowers. And it transplants without a hitch. Dig up a chunk and now the hummingbirds love the front yard too. Highly recommended, a great plant for the beginning gardener to boost your confidence!

