There are books out there that I read so slow, as slow as I possibly can, because I don’t want them to end. Ever. That’s how I feel about the book I’m reading right now by Derek Jarman. Derek Jarman’s Garden with incredibly moving pictures by Howard Sooley, was the last book Derek Jarman wrote before passing from AIDS in 1994. He began the garden in Dungeness, Kent in 1986 and transformed the bleak apocalyptic land facing a nuclear power plant into an inspired garden of plants, sculpture, symbolism and intention.

JarmansGardenLrg_4.JPG

The whole book looks and reads like a dreamlike state. I can’t believe I haven’t read this until now. My highest recommendations.

dungeness-28Image by Urban 75
Dungeness_gardenImage from Wikimedia
3280389283_01fd958dbaImage by tanetahi’s flickr
