I have big love for alternative living spaces; I think they’re so exciting and crucial. So when I saw this piece in the NY Times a few days ago I wanted to share it here. Dan Philips, after almost a lifetime of other careers, began his own construction company with the purpose of using recycled building materials in an unconventional way to create energy efficient, affordable housing for low income folks. He wanted to prove it could be done and I’d say that he has done just that. Here’s a link to the article, and here’s a link to the slideshow of 19 incredible pictures.

03recycled600.1

03recycled650.2

In that top picture the entire ceiling is made up of old picture frame samples. I can’t get over how much I love that. These homes remind me of some of the homes in the book Woodstock Handmade Houses which I swoon over as well, even though I tell myself that I’m not a hippie. As I’m writing this I’m realizing two things: First, after coming upon this project in Huntsville TX and art pieces like Inversion (previous post) I’m feeling like I should go check out Texas. And second, I am also realizing that this setting is not exactly urban, which is my focus here. But how could this idea translate into the grid? I’m off to look for examples of that now….

