il_430xN.81877619I know this is a blog about nature within the city, but I’m leaving the city limits again. You see, I liked summer when I found it last week – so I’m going back. This time to the Yuba river for a little camping and I know the mosquitos are going to be out full force. I only wish they were as cute as the above drawing by Golly Bard on Etsy. In the 70s I remember using 1/2 a can of DEET on my legs but now I just can’t, so I’m concocting up a recipe. I’ll let you know how it goes! Click more for the recipe!

You can use alcohol (either witch hazel or vodka) or a carrier oil like olive or almond as your base. Then with a ration of 10 parts base (alcohol or oil) to 1 part essential oils you can mix up your repellant. I’m using a mixture of lemongrass, eucalyptus and mint essential oils with witch hazel. Put it all in a spray bottle and shake it up. It only takes about 30 seconds to make.

I’ve used it in the past to stave off ticks during the dry season but this is my first mosquitos-at-the-river trial. They will either laugh at me as I become their dinner or move on to some poor other camper. I’ll let you know!

