There are a few more posts I want to share about my time on the Olympic Peninsula. This post was brought to my attention by my mom, Penny – so thanks!

il_430xN.57067916

Image by Sunprint, etsy seller

I love the idea of this company and can’t get it off of my mind. Sail Transport Co. is providing CSA produce boxes to subscribers in Seattle completely free of fossil fuels. They bring fresh organic produce from fantastic sources like Nash’s Organic Farm in Sequim to Seattle by a series of alternative modes of transportation. First they use a 15 year old electric truck to bring over 1000 lbs of produce down to the dock where they then load it onto their sailboat named Whisper. From there they travel by sailboat for anywhere between 12 to 24 hours into Seattle. Upon reaching Seattle they load the produce onto electric trikes with bike trailers attached to reach the produce markets and CSA (Community Supported Agriculture)  pick up locations. Zero % emissions, just muscle and creative thought. They also deliver honey from another peninsula location. Beautiful, right?

