italian tree tomato      This was the impulse buy at the nursery. You know how it is, you go into the nursery to get something specific and then a plant just suckers you in. Then you’re in line with it. This is how I wound up with the Italian Tree Tomato. I kept reading the tag: ‘Trellis tomato grows up to 25 ft. Prune heavy for tree like appearance. Heavy yielding medium sized red globes’. The skeptical side of me was, well skeptical. The jack-in-the-beanstalk side of me was all for it. And the Italian side of me was hungrily envisioning bowl after bowl of medium sized red globes. 

The picture above is after it had been in the ground for a few days. I have to admit I was a little disappointed. I’d been picturing a foot a day growth. I am secretly hoping that I will have to ask my upstairs neighbor to help me pick the tomatoes.

I suppose the plant should come with a warning that tomatoes just don’t grow that well in the SF Bay Area (damn fog), but I will keep documenting it’s growth with the help of my pal the gnome. Unless of course someone kidnaps the gnome.  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garden_Gnome_Liberationists

Oh, and the crazy lady bamboo sticks surrounding the plant are my feral cat/frenetic squirrel barrier. I am happy to say that with the exception of a few squirrel impasses it is working well.

